Review: Kelly Clarkson – Greatest Hits: Chapter One (The Essential Very Best Greatest Hits Collection Review)…

Image

Years Covered: 2003 – 2012

Length of Album: 63:52

Chronological or Mix Disc Format: Mix Disc

Number of New Tracks: 3

Number of Unreleased/Hard To Find Tracks: 1

What *isn’t* on this: “Dark Side”, “I Do Not Hook Up”, “All I Ever Wanted”, “Cry”, “Sober”, anything from the American Idol releases

What would I have done differently?: I would have added “Dark Side” and ‘I Do Not Hook Up”.

Overview: This collection did a good job getting most of Kelly’s well-known songs on one disc. If you don’t own much of her music this is a good place to start. If you want the three new tracks, and can get the disc for cheap, I’d suggest it. Otherwise, if you are a track by track fan, just download the new tracks from iTunes. A great overview. I just wish “Dark Side” was included. But since Stronger isn’t old yet, I’m sure they are using that as bait to make people buy Stronger as well. If you fork out the extra cash for the UK version, you get “Dark Side”, “I Do Not Hook Up”, “The Trouble With Love Is”, “Beautiful Disaster” and a dvd of her videos also. But American fans get cheated out of this.

About the New/Rare tracks: “Catch My Breath” is the standout here, an upbeat powerful track that is a natural progression from “Stronger”. “People Like Us” follows suit with a very similar style and I’m sure will be a single as well. I think Kelly is finding one of her strengths is making songs about self empowerment while getting over heard times and heartache. and the third track “Don’t Rush” is a duet with Vince Gill. But even though this is with a country singer, it has more of a late 70s laid back California country-soft rock feel. Think of the Eagles’ “I Can’t Tell You Why”. I’m not usually a country fan, but I like this one.  “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” is a nice touch to add to the end, until after Christmas season, where it ends up being skipped. I’ve never been much of a fan of putting Christmas songs on hits collections. But it is a very good vocal jazz version that shows off her voice.

The Verdict: If you have her albums, go download the three new songs and save the money. If you don’t have much of her music like me, this is a great starting point.

“Catch My Breath”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEValZuFYRU

“Don’t Rush (Live)”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CcAecOpUi3k

Leave a Reply

